Tennessee Radon Authority
Updated October 17, 2026

Davidson County Radon · research reviewed October 14, 2026

Davidson County, TN radon Radon rules are stronger here. The data still needs care.

Metro Nashville explicitly adopted the 2024 residential code's radon appendix. That makes radon-resistant construction mandatory for covered new homes in Metro's permitting jurisdiction—but the answer changes inside five satellite cities.

Radon in Davidson County, Tennessee: quick answers

EPA zone: Zone 1Region: Middle TennesseeState test data: State test figures seen once; shown with a caveat

Is radon a problem in Davidson County, Tennessee?

Yes, it can be. Davidson County is in EPA Zone 1, the highest radon-potential category, where the predicted average indoor screening level is above 4 pCi/L. Levels vary from house to house, so a test is the only way to know your home's level.

Do new homes in Davidson County, TN have to be built radon-resistant?

In most of the county, yes. Metro Nashville adopted the 2024 code's radon appendix (BE) in July 2025, and Berry Hill adopted the 2018 version. Belle Meade, Forest Hills, Oak Hill and Goodlettsville issue their own permits and their rules weren't confirmed. Local code details

How do I test my home for radon in Davidson County?

Order a free short-term kit from the Tennessee Radon Program online or by calling 1-800-232-1139. Place it on the lowest lived-in floor, about 3 feet off the floor, for 3 to 5 days, then mail it back right away. How to test your home

What radon level means I should fix my home?

EPA recommends fixing your home if radon is 4 pCi/L or higher, and considering a fix between 2 and 4 pCi/L. Confirm a high short-term result with a second test first. What your result means

Who can test or fix radon in Davidson County?

Tennessee doesn't license radon professionals, so look for NRPP or NRSB certification. Search both national directories by ZIP code; certified professionals often serve Davidson County from nearby cities. How to choose a radon professional

Code verdict Metro adopted Appendix BE. Berry Hill adopted its 2018 predecessor. Four satellite-city answers remain unverified. See the matrix ↓
01

The Davidson County read

Three findings define the county: a real new-construction requirement, a fragmented permitting map, and a state dataset that rewards precise wording.

BE

Metro made the radon appendix part of local code.

BL2025-898 adopted the 2024 IRC with Appendices BA, BD, BE, BF and CD. Appendix BE is “Radon Control Methods” and only applies when expressly adopted.

6

There are six permitting answers inside the county.

Metro plus Belle Meade, Berry Hill, Forest Hills, Oak Hill and Goodlettsville each issue building permits. Metro's rule cannot be assumed in the five satellite cities.

38.0

The dashboard's maximum is high; its median is missing.

The live Davidson tooltip showed a 2.8 pCi/L average, no median value and a 38.0 pCi/L maximum.

Sources: Metro Legistar, BL2025-898 · Environmental Law Institute · Tennessee Radon Testing dashboard

02

One county, six code answers

Metro's ordinance is clear. The satellite cities control their own building permits, so the correct answer follows the permit issuer—not the mailing address.

BL2025-898 is in force.

Filed June 10, 2025; passed third reading July 15; approved by the Mayor July 16. It adopted the 2024 IRC and Appendices BA, BD, BE, BF and CD.

Open ordinance history ↗
JurisdictionResidential codeRadon appendixWhat is verified
Metro Nashville2024 IRC + BA, BD, BE, BF, CDAdopted

Appendix BE applies to new one- and two-family dwellings in Metro's permitting jurisdiction. The exact local inspection workflow is not published.

Berry Hill2018 IRC + F, G, H, JAdopted

Ordinance 2021-470 expressly includes Appendix F, the 2018 “Radon Control Methods” appendix. Berry Hill issues its own building permits.

Belle Meade2024 IRC, effective July 1, 2026Unverified

The city's adopted-code page does not state an appendix list. Its own Building and Codes Office handles building permits.

Forest HillsEdition not verifiedUnverified

The city runs its own building inspection program and does not accept third-party verification.

Oak HillEdition not verifiedUnverified

The city has its own Codes Office and permit requirements. No appendix list was confirmed.

GoodlettsvilleEdition not verifiedUnverified

The city, which crosses Davidson and Sumner counties, issues its own residential permits. No appendix list was confirmed.

What Appendix BE changes

  1. A gas-permeable layer and soil-gas retarder are incorporated below the building.
  2. Potential soil-gas entry routes are sealed and a passive vent pipe routes gas above the roof.
  3. The 2021-and-later appendix standard added post-construction radon testing.
  4. If the post-construction level is at or above 4 pCi/L, the passive system is activated with a fan.

Sources: Environmental Law Institute · ICC 2024 IRC Appendix BE · Berry Hill Ordinance 2021-470 · Belle Meade adopted codes

03

A 1989 rule may still apply

Metro Board of Health Regulation No. 9 remains posted on a Metro domain. Its text is unusually specific, but research did not confirm whether the rule is currently in force or actively enforced.

5 yrs

Interval stated in the 1989 text

The regulation called for radon surveys of Metro public buildings at least once every five years. It was adopted July 13, 1989 under Metro Code 10.56.260 and Ordinance S088-526; current enforceability remains unverified.

Read Regulation No. 9 ↗
4.0 pCi/L action levelThe regulation uses 4.0 pCi/L as its acceptable-level guide.
Ground-contact roomsThe initial survey covered occupied rooms on and below ground level.
Before Metro occupancyThe 1989 text says acquired, leased or newly constructed buildings may not be occupied by Metro until surveyed at an acceptable level.
After mitigationThe 1989 text calls for another survey after work to reduce radon.
Scope and uncertainty. The rule excludes buildings of the Metropolitan Nashville Airport Authority, Nashville Electric Service and Metropolitan Development and Housing Authority. Its confirmatory-testing and occupancy-plan provisions use 4, 20, 100 and 200 pCi/L thresholds. The regulation is still posted, but research did not verify whether Metro Public Health currently runs the five-year cycle.
Schools and sales. Tennessee Code § 49-2-121 encourages—but does not require—local education agencies to test schools. In a home sale, Tennessee's standard disclosure practice covers known radon; sellers are not required to investigate, and no Davidson-specific pre-sale testing mandate was found.

Sources: Tennessee Code § 49-2-121 · Tennessee disclosure-law overview

04

What the state dashboard actually says

Use the live tooltip values exactly as shown and keep the workbook's health-region behavior separate from county facts.

Maximum shown38.0 pCi/LDavidson County tooltip · 2022–2023 view
Average

2.8 pCi/L. This value appeared in the Davidson County map tooltip during the October 14, 2026 live check.

Median

Blank. No value appeared.

Band charts

County clicks filter the pre- and post-mitigation charts to the county's health region. Davidson is itself a single-county health region, so its Davidson column is county-level; this is not true for most Tennessee counties.

Meaning

The tooltip summarizes submitted tests. It does not predict the level in a specific home, and the dashboard does not state whether tooltip averages include post-mitigation tests.

Source: Tennessee Department of Health — Tennessee Radon Testing dashboard, observed live October 14, 2026. EPA zone context: EPA Map of Radon Zones.

How do I find a certified radon professional in Davidson County?

Tennessee doesn't license radon testers or mitigators, so national certification is the best way to check qualifications. The Tennessee Radon Program points residents to two directories: search them by ZIP code and widen the radius if nothing is listed nearby.

We don't recommend or rank companies. Before you hire, check the certification number in the directory yourself and ask for a follow-up test after any system is installed. Questions to ask a radon professional.

05

“New” does not mean “tested”

Davidson County's distinctive buyer story is the intersection of high new-construction volume and a code that now requires radon controls in Metro-permitted homes.

37%

of Nashville metro listings were reported as new builds in 2025

A local report citing Realtor.com ranked Nashville #3 nationally for new-home construction. That makes Appendix BE relevant to a large share of buyers.

4 pCi/L

is still the decision point in the newer appendix standard

The 2021-and-later appendix standard calls for a post-construction test and fan activation when the level is high. A passive pipe should not be treated as a test result.

98 days

average time on market reported in early 2026

The same market report cited a 96.4% sale-to-list ratio and price reductions on roughly 67% of listings—conditions that may give buyers room to preserve an inspection contingency.

Known only

describes the state disclosure rule

Tennessee sellers disclose known radon conditions; the disclosure framework does not require them to test first. Testing answers a question the form may leave “Unknown.”

Scope nuance. Appendix BE applies to IRC-covered one- and two-family dwellings; multifamily buildings outside that scope should not be described as covered by the same residential appendix. Townhouses can fall within the IRC.

Sources: What Now Nashville / Realtor.com ranking · Nashville buyer-market report · Environmental Law Institute

06

Radon testing resources

Test the home, know the number, and use qualified help if the result is elevated.

Test your home

  • Free test kit from TDEC
    Tennessee's radon program offers kits to residents.
  • 1-800-SOS-RADON (1-800-767-7236)
    Buy a radon test kit by phone.
  • 1-800-55RADON (1-800-557-2366)
    Get live help with radon questions.
  • Find a certified professional
    NRPP 800-269-4174 · NRSB 866-329-3474

If your result comes back high

  • 1-800-644-6999
    The Fix-It Hotline offers general guidance on lowering radon in your home.
21,000

About 21,000 U.S. lung cancer deaths each year are linked to radon—the second-leading cause overall and the leading cause among people who never smoked.

~9×

At 4 pCi/L, EPA estimates about 62 in 1,000 smokers could get lung cancer from lifetime exposure, versus about 7 in 1,000 people who never smoked.

1 in 15

About one in every 15 homes has a high radon level.

2 years

Retest at least every 2 years if you have a mitigation system, and after renovations or changes to how you use the lowest floor. EPA recommends action at 4 pCi/L and consideration between 2 and 4.

Hotline information: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Health statistics: EPA, Health Risk of Radon and American Lung Association.

07

Sources & evidence

Primary government and code sources lead; live directory and dashboard observations are dated. Indexed pages are described as such rather than presented as live-open verification.

  1. Metro Legistar — BL2025-898 (indexed bill text and action history; direct fetch failed during research)
  2. Environmental Law Institute — Radon Control in New Home Construction
  3. ICC — 2024 IRC Appendix BE (indexed text; direct page returned 403)
  4. Metro Board of Health Regulation No. 9
  5. EPA — Map of Radon Zones
  6. Tennessee Radon Testing dashboard (live observation, October 14, 2026)
  7. NRPP professional search, 37203 (live observation, October 14, 2026)
  8. NRSB professional search (live observation, October 14, 2026)
  9. Berry Hill Ordinance 2021-470
  10. Belle Meade — Building Permits & Adopted Codes
  11. Forest Hills — Building Inspection Requirements
  12. Oak Hill — Codes Schedule Requirements
  13. Goodlettsville — Residential Permit Application
  14. Tennessee Code § 49-2-121
  15. Tennessee seller-disclosure overview
  16. Nashville new-construction ranking report
  17. Nashville buyer-market report

Verification language. “Observed live” means we viewed the value on the live source on October 14, 2026. “Indexed” means the claim was available in search-index text, but the source page could not be opened directly. Unverified items are labeled rather than inferred.

Data caution. The dashboard is not a random sample of all Davidson County homes. County-level summary values cannot determine an individual home's level. Certification-directory counts are voluntary listings and change over time.