Tennessee Radon Authority
Updated October 17, 2026

Crockett County Radon · Tennessee

Crockett County, TN radon Low-zone county. No radon-ready mandate.

Crockett County is EPA Zone 3, and the state dashboard showed a 0.9 pCi/L average. But no jurisdiction requires radon-resistant new construction—and a county average cannot clear an individual home.

Editorial cutaway illustration of a rural West Tennessee brick home showing radon rising through a foundation joint
Radon enters through soil-contact cracks and openings in new and existing homes.

Radon in Crockett County, Tennessee: quick answers

EPA zone: Zone 3Region: West TennesseeState test data: State test figures confirmed on repeat checks

Is radon a problem in Crockett County, Tennessee?

It can be. Crockett County is in EPA Zone 3, the lowest predicted radon-potential category (below 2 pCi/L on average). Homes with high radon are still found in Zone 3, and the Tennessee Radon Program has found homes needing action in every Tennessee county, so test to know your home's level.

Do new homes in Crockett County, TN have to be built radon-resistant?

No, not in Alamo: its 2018 code lists many appendices but leaves out radon. Bells, Maury City and the unincorporated county have no current local residential code on record. Local code details

How do I test my home for radon in Crockett County?

Order a free short-term kit from the Tennessee Radon Program online or by calling 1-800-232-1139. Place it on the lowest lived-in floor, about 3 feet off the floor, for 3 to 5 days, then mail it back right away. How to test your home

What radon level means I should fix my home?

EPA recommends fixing your home if radon is 4 pCi/L or higher, and considering a fix between 2 and 4 pCi/L. Confirm a high short-term result with a second test first. What your result means

Who can test or fix radon in Crockett County?

Tennessee doesn't license radon professionals, so look for NRPP or NRSB certification. Search both national directories by ZIP code; certified professionals often serve Crockett County from nearby cities. How to choose a radon professional

The bottom line

Test the house, not the county label.

EPA’s Zone 3 designation predicts a countywide average below 2 pCi/L. The Tennessee dashboard’s Crockett tooltip averaged 0.9 pCi/L for its 2022–2023 records, but median and maximum values could not be read. Elevated homes occur in every EPA zone.

How EPA says to use its zone map ↗

Zone 3

EPA radon potential

Predicted countywide average below 2 pCi/L. This designation does not replace a test.

0.9

pCi/L dashboard average

Confirmed twice from the Crockett-labeled tooltip. Median and maximum were unreadable.

0

Certified pros based in-county

No NRPP- or NRSB-listed professional was found in Crockett County.

Risk profile

One verified average—with important limits.

The EPA map estimates potential. The state dashboard summarizes reported test events. Neither predicts a specific address.

Verified designation

Crockett County is EPA Radon Zone 3.

Zone 3 means predicted average indoor levels below 2 pCi/L. Neighboring Dyer, Madison, Gibson, Haywood, Lauderdale, Chester and Henderson counties are also listed as Zone 3.

EPA Map of Radon Zones: Tennessee · EPA zone-map guidance ↗

0.9 pCi/L

The only confirmed Crockett County dashboard figure.

The tooltip identified “County: Crockett” and displayed this average on two checks on October 16, 2026. Median and maximum labels appeared without readable values, so they are not reported here.

Open the Tennessee Radon Testing dashboard ↗

Do not overread 0.9: the workbook covers 2022–2023, offers no CSV export, and does not expose a Crockett test count. Neighboring Dyer and Lauderdale displayed “No Events.”
Data structure

The lower charts are health-region aggregates.

The pre- and post-mitigation band charts display health-region rows. Selecting a county filters those charts to its region; Crockett sits in the West Region. The charts cannot support a Crockett-specific test count or percentage above 4 pCi/L.

Building codes

Alamo is clear. The rest of the county is an enforcement gap.

Alamo publishes an explicit appendix list. Bells, Maury City and the unincorporated county are absent from the state’s permit-required list.

Alamo · verified

2018 IRC; no Appendix F

  • Ordinance #2023-2, passed June 2023.
  • Appendices A, B, C, D, E, G, H, J, K, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S and T are named.
  • Appendix F, Radon Control Methods, is not adopted.

Result: radon-resistant new construction is optional in Alamo.

State baseline · verified

2018 IRC; Appendix Q only

  • Tennessee’s residential rule adopts the 2018 IRC with Appendix Q.
  • Appendix F is not part of the state adoption.
  • Even where state enforcement applies, the radon appendix does not.
Bells & Maury City · incomplete record

No current local IRC found

  • Bells’ MTAS Title 12 is reserved for future use and is dated 2003.
  • Maury City’s 1997 posting covers mobile homes only.
  • Newer ordinances may exist; city-recorder confirmation is needed.
Unincorporated county · likely opt-out

Not on the state permit list

  • Crockett County, Bells and Maury City do not appear on the SFMO permit-required lists.
  • This is consistent with opt-out status.
  • The specific opt-out resolutions and dates were not found online.

For homebuyers

“Unknown” is not a test result.

Tennessee’s standard disclosure form asks whether the seller knows of radon gas. It does not establish that the property was tested.

Add radon to the inspection contingency.

Ask for a test result tied to the property. A blank or “unknown” disclosure is not evidence of a low reading.

Test new homes, too.

No jurisdiction in Crockett County requires the radon appendix. Ask the builder whether a passive radon rough-in or other voluntary radon-resistant feature was installed.

Choose the right testing route.

TDEC offers one free radon test kit per Tennessee household. For a transaction, compare the timeline and chain-of-custody needs with a credentialed professional.

Verify professional credentials.

No credentialed provider was based locally in the October 16 directory checks, so confirm current NRPP or NRSB status before booking a traveler.

Tennessee property disclosure form ↗ · Request a TDEC free test kit ↗

Housing context

New construction is a small but unprotected slice of the market.

Census QuickFacts reports 25 building permits in 2025, 6,215 housing units, a 71.6% owner-occupied rate, a $158,900 median owner-occupied value and $857 median gross rent. The population moved from 13,911 in the 2020 Census to an estimated 14,006 in July 2025, a 0.7% increase.

Census QuickFacts: Crockett County ↗

How do I find a certified radon professional in Crockett County?

Tennessee doesn't license radon testers or mitigators, so national certification is the best way to check qualifications. The Tennessee Radon Program points residents to two directories: search them by ZIP code and widen the radius if nothing is listed nearby.

We don't recommend or rank companies. Before you hire, check the certification number in the directory yourself and ask for a follow-up test after any system is installed. Questions to ask a radon professional.

Answers in brief

Crockett County radon FAQ

Is Crockett County in a high-radon area?
Crockett County is listed as Zone 3, indicating predicted average indoor radon below 2 pCi/L. Elevated homes still occur in every zone, so only a test can determine a home’s level.
What did the Tennessee dashboard show?
The Crockett-labeled tooltip showed a 0.9 pCi/L average on two checks on October 16, 2026. Median and maximum values were not readable and are not reported.
Is radon-resistant construction required?
No. Alamo’s 2018 IRC ordinance omits Appendix F, and Tennessee’s state baseline adopts Appendix Q only. The county, Bells and Maury City are absent from the state permit-required lists, though their specific opt-out records remain unverified.
Should a new home be tested?
Yes. No jurisdiction requires radon-resistant construction, and a test measures the home itself.
Are local certified testers available?
No NRPP- or NRSB-listed professional was based in Crockett County on October 16, 2026. The nearest NRPP listings were in the Memphis area, roughly 56 to 63 miles from Alamo.
Can I get a free test kit?
TDEC offers one free radon test kit per Tennessee household through its online request page.

Research trail

Primary and supporting sources

Dashboard, jurisdiction and professional-directory observations were checked October 16, 2026. Unresolved records are identified above.

  1. Alamo Municipal Code, Title 12 — 2018 IRC, Ordinance #2023-2 and appendix list.
  2. Bells Municipal Code, Title 12 — reserved for future use.
  3. Maury City Municipal Code, Title 4 — mobile-home chapter only.
  4. TN Rule 0780-02-23 — 2018 IRC and Appendix Q adoption.
  5. TN State Fire Marshal residential permits — program scope.
  6. State permit-required jurisdiction list.
  7. Tennessee Radon Testing dashboard — two Crockett tooltip observations.
  8. EPA Map of Radon Zones — map purpose and limitations.
  9. EPA Map of Radon Zones: Tennessee — Crockett Zone 3.
  10. NRPP professional directory — Alamo, Jackson and Dyersburg area searches.
  11. NRSB professional finder — Tennessee statewide search.
  12. TN REALTORS® Residential Property Condition Disclosure RF 201 — radon named as an environmental hazard.
  13. Census QuickFacts: Crockett County — population, housing and permits.
  14. TDEC Radon Program — one free kit per household.
  15. T.C.A. § 49-2-121 — school indoor-air testing is encouraged, not required.